Grace Lee Y5 BPS : …….SPOOKY MONDAY NIGHT!…

IMG_2102

One gloomy dark Monday night,

The lights on the road were ever so bright.

A domertry full of ghosts,

Which my mum and I adore the most!

We live just along the road,

Where there are lots of snakes and toads.

There is a forest to our right,

That’s where I love to learn to read and write.

Last night I told a story of fairies,

I told the story while eating some wild berries!

Crunch! Crunch! Crunch!

The wild berries that I ate were in a bunch,

I’ll tell you, those were meant to be for lunch!

2 thoughts on “Grace Lee Y5 BPS : …….SPOOKY MONDAY NIGHT!…

  1. Hi Grace

    I always felt that poem writing is so tricky. Nice job on this one! Check spelling of ‘domertry’. Wow your mom and you love ghosts?! Check your tenses as well. You seem to have a mix of present and past tense in your poem.

  2. Dear Grace, I like the way that you have constructed this poem, where each pair of lines rhyme at the end. You have worked it well so that it tells a story and follows a lovely sequence of events. There are times, though, when you need to think carefully about the language you use to add detail. For example, you say that the berries went “Crunch, crunch, crunch” This is normally something that you would associate with something hard, whereas berries are normally soft! I did enjoy the imagery you have created, although it does not sound like the kind of place I would like to live – all those snakes and toads would make me very wary! Well done. 🙂

Leave a comment